Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Accepting credit cards - long and includes some venting

Moonlights

Reaction score
I have been accepting credit cards for 4 years now and it's getting more and more expensive. I have my account through NOVA network and I accept only Visa and MC (No AmEx or Discover). Every month I get charged more and more. I had my statement looked at by a friend who works for a different processor and her reaction was, "yep, they are nailing you". I have 6 more months left on my contract.

Seems that the majority of transactions were so called "rewards" cards: people get miles, points, cash back. On some of those transactions I paid 4.59%. Plus 35 cent transaction fee, statement fee, phone line cost. I think I am easily paying 6-7% when you take everything into consideration.

I am trying to think of ways to remedy this. I want to make sure I am all set before November 1 when I get hit hard with Xmas gift certificates.

Definitely, I am looking at other providers and I am going to call my current when when their sales department opens in an hour. But I still feel that no matter who I go with it's still going to cost me $$$.

I also noticed that more and more clients are paying with credit cards - more than usual and I don't want that.

I even considered giving up credit cards altogether and just accepting them for online transactions.

When clients ask me how I would like to get paid I always tell them cash or check as they charge us too much for accepting credit cards. Everybody is usually understanding (except for someone got ticked last week b/c she wanted her Visa "points").