Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Discouraged - difficulties with deeper massage.

Skittles

Reaction score
Hey everyone. Hoping for some guidance here.

I live in Vancouver, Canada. Though I am not a Registered Massage Therapist, I did complete a Certified Body Worker program at an accredited massage school and learnt a variety of different massage modalities, plus some esthetics. I graduated six months ago and have been massaging professionally in a health spa for about four months now, so I'm still relatively fresh to the industry.

Now that I am finally working (and making real money as opposed to my practicum), I find that I'm having a lot more trouble satisfying clients that are looking for deeper/firm pressure massage. I've noticed that a lot of the people who have voiced these concerns happen to be much leaner, petite women. As a guy, I find it a bit more challenging to work with these clients because my arms/hands are simply too large to apply the kind of precision that I'm accustomed to with larger clients. I was taught by my instructors to be conservative with my thumbs, so I generally use a lot of palmar, ulnar border, elbow, and knuckle work.

After an experience with a particularly nasty client, I've lost a lot of my confidence applying deeper pressure in general. It has bled into my performance with other clients as well. I get a lot of anxiety going into treatments and have to really discipline myself to stay positive about my place in this industry. I find that I am really good at performing general relaxation massage (light/medium pressure) but whenever I see somebody that wants deeper pressure (40-50%+ of clients usually), I get nervous.